[DWJ] Survey Part 3: Everything Else

jackie e stallcup jstallcup at juno.com
Wed Mar 29 15:35:23 EST 2006


Both Margaret Mahy and DWJ have won the Children's Literature
Association's Phoenix award or Honor award in the past two years.  This
year, dwj won for Howl's Moving Castle and MM was runner up with The
Tricksters, while last year, MM won with Catalog of the Universe while
dwj was runner up for Fire and Hemlock.  

Unfortunately, as you all know, dwj isn't up to traveling to California,
so she won't be speaking at our conference this year or picking up her
award in person.  Last year, MM gave a very enjoyable speech in
recognition of her award.  

And here's a bit of shameless self-promotion:  if you are interested in
the conference (there will be papers on dwj AND mm this year!!!), here's
the website for more information:  http://wiz.cath.vt.edu/chla/chla2006/ 

We'll be meeting in Manhattan Beach California.... I know Rene will be
there (hi Rene!)...  anyone else on the list planning to come?  We could
have a listmeet!


On Thu, 30 Mar 2006 08:13:35 +1200 "Elizabeth Evans"
<er.evans at auckland.ac.nz> writes:
> Hallie said:
> >Writer who most reminds me of DWJ: Margaret Mahy
> And Emma concurred:
> I agree heartily with this mystery person's opinion. I discovered 
> both DWJ 
> and Mahy at around the same age, and even managed to get their books 
> mixed 
> up in my head for a while. I am too tired to pin-point the 
> similarities, 
> but think they both write great children/adolescent characters. 
> They're 
> both great at writing believable magic as well. 
> And coincidentally, Margaret Mahy has recently won an award, as I 
> found out yesterday in an emailed news item from our College of 
> Education:
> -    -    -    -    -    -    - 
> Margaret Mahy the inaugural Sylvia Ashton-Warner Fellow and in 
> residence on campus in 2002, has been awarded the Hans Christian 
> Andersen Award, the "Little Nobel". The award is given biennially by 
> the International Board on Books for Young People (IBBY) to honour 
> an author who has made a lasting contribution to international 
> children's literature. Previous winners have included Aidan 
> Chambers, Patricia Wrightson and Paula Fox. Nominees for the 2006 
> award included E.L.Konigsburg (USA), Philip Pullman (UK) and Jean 
> Little (Canada).
> Katherine Paterson our 2005 Fellow, has been awarded the Astrid 
> Lindgren Memorial Award. The Swedish government presents this award 
> annually in memory of Astrid Lindgren, the Swedish writer for 
> children who died in 2002. The award seeks to promote children's and 
> youth literature around the world. Previous winners have included 
> British author Philip Pullman and American author and illustrator 
> Maurice Sendak. Nominees for the 2006 award included David Almond, 
> Quentin Blake, Susan Cooper, Russell Hoban, Shirley Hughes, Michel 
> Morpurgo, Peter Sis and Diana Wynne Jones.
> Of her work the jury said Katherine "is a brilliant psychologist who 
> gets right under the skin of the vulnerable young people she creates 
> .... she avoids simple solutions, building instead on the inner 
> strength and courage of her main characters."
>  Congratulations to Margaret Mahy and Katherine Paterson! 
> The Sylvia Ashton-Warner Library is privileged to have had such 
> giants of children's literature as recipients of our Fellowship.
> -    -    -    -    -    -    - 
> Regards
> Elizabeth.
> _______________________________________________
> Dwj mailing list
> Dwj at suberic.net
> http://www.suberic.net/mailman/listinfo/dwj

More information about the Dwj mailing list