Had to ask...Now the Vorkosigan books

Elizabeth Evans er.evans at auckland.ac.nz
Wed Jun 25 23:51:46 EDT 2003

Thank you very much for the advice, Melissa and Robyn. I will keep these
handy, because my exam is on Saturday and after that I will be FREE!!! for 3
whole weeks until the second semester begins. So I'll be off to the library
on Sunday, yay!

> On Thu, 26 Jun 2003 09:39:28 +1200, Elizabeth Evans wrote:
> >So now my question is - since I'm obviously going to HAVE to read the
> >Vorkosigan books, which one should I read first?
> >Should I read them in the order they were written, or is there a better
> >order?
> I vote that Deborah posts this somewhere on the website, because
> it's almost
> the most common non-DWJ question we have.  :)
> Reading them in the order they were written is a slightly different
> experience than chronological order, because the characters mature quite a
> lot as Bujold became more experienced (perfectly natural, and a
> good thing).
> I vote for chronological myself, because I figure anyone coming
> late to the
> series should take advantage of its availability.
> Shards of Honor
> Barrayar
> (available together as Cordelia's Honor)
> The Warrior's Apprentice
> The Vor Game
> (available together as Young Miles)
> Cetaganda
> Brothers In Arms
> Mirror Dance
> (available together as Miles Errant)
> Memory
> Komarr
> A Civil Campaign
> Diplomatic Immunity
> I have left out several titles for various reasons:
> *Borders of Infinity is a short story/novella collection.  It contains a
> frame story that takes place just after Brothers in Arms, but the
> individual
> stories are all over the place.  I usually read the whole thing after
> Brothers in Arms, rather than picking the book up four times, but the
> chronology printed at the end of virtually every recent printing will tell
> you where the stories go, if you want to be really strict.
> *Falling Free and Ethan of Athos take place in the Vorkosigan universe but
> are not strictly Miles stories.  If you include these, Falling Free is the
> very first one in the series; Ethan of Athos comes just after
> Cetaganda.  I
> like Falling Free a lot, but it's not the best introduction to Miles; my
> suggestion is to read it just before reading "Labyrinth" from Borders of
> Infinity, to provide a background for understanding the
> genetically-engineered quaddies Miles meets in that story.
> *The short story "Winterfair Gifts" is about Miles's wedding, but won't be
> published until 2004.  Then you will have to don your Paper Bag
> of Anonymity
> and venture into the romance section to find the anthology Irresistable
> Forces, edited by Catherine Asaro.
> *The omnibus edition Miles, Mystery and Mayhem includes Cetaganda
> and Ethan
> of Athos.
> Melissa Proffitt
> --
> To unsubscribe, email dwj-request at suberic.net with the body "unsubscribe".
> Visit the archives at http://suberic.net/dwj/list/

To unsubscribe, email dwj-request at suberic.net with the body "unsubscribe".
Visit the archives at http://suberic.net/dwj/list/

More information about the Dwj mailing list